College graduate

18425544_10158814483860151_5166722275491732288_n

I write this 4 margaritas deep, so bare with me.

my words, although never eloquent, may be sloppier than usual, but goodness are they true.

As I stood in a line by myself while all the others were surrounded by friends, I wept.

I wept because as much as I loved them at the time, friends didn’t get me here, I did.

I made the choices, I skipped the classes, I did the studying. Friends or no friends, I was there, graduating with my Bachelor’s degree.

And I cried.

I didn’t think I would. I have not been looking forward to this day. I was praying it would go by so fast so I could just move on with life.

But I’m glad it took its time.

I cried while walking on to the field, I cried while walking the stage, and I cried while clutching my diploma.

I didn’t know how important this day was to me.

I hated college. I struggled so hard. I lost so many friends. I felt more alone than I ever did in high school.

But graduation made it worth it.

Knowing I did something, no matter how much I didn’t want to, no matter how many friends I lost, no matter how much I cried, I did something important.

18403698_10158814483945151_6511708974714570081_n

Also, here’s my cap because I’m super proud of it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

